Chakra Healing Centers

The 7 chakras (energy wheels) are an ancient Sanskrit understanding of the energy centers that pulse chi (life force) throughout our body. Understanding the chakras and their representation within our bodies allows us to connect the manifestation of emotions and our physical bodies.

When we are in emotional distress or physical pain, often these chakras can become blocked and hinder our healing process. We can begin to meditate and connect the mind to these centers in our body and utilize this knowledge to perpetuate balance and healing.

The chakras do not exist only in spiritual theory, but are directly related to high concentrations of nerve endings and meridians in our body which have been explained through many scientific, cultural, and spiritual perspectives for centuries. For instance, we can link the crown chakra with the neocortex, the third eye with the prefrontal cortex, the throat chakra with the limbic system, the heart chakra with the midbrain, the solar plexus with the pons, the sacral and root chakras with the medulla oblongatta (For more research regarding Chakras, Chakra in Science).

However, to only view these centers through a scientific perspective would lose a great majority of the depth in this knowledge. There are scientific, psychological, and spiritual importance within the study of the 7 Chakras.

I have studied the chakra system through my yoga and reiki trainings along with personal study, though I encourage everyone to look into onesself and their chakras along with additonal studies. They are a guiding light in our healing process.

The 7 Chakras

  • Sahasrara, Crown Chakra
    clear, white, violet
    I am that I am.
  • Anja, Third-Eye Chakra
    I recieve the worlds wisdom.
  • Vishuddha, Throat Chakra
    blue, turquoise
    I speak my truth
  • Anahata, Heart Chakra
    I am love
  • Manipura, Solar Plexus Chakra
    I love all parts of myself
  • Swadhisthana, Sacral Chakra
    I desire, I dream
  • Muladhara, Root Chakra
    I am grounded

~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~

Sahasrara, Crown Chakra

Located at the top of the head, or just above, its element is Thought.
This center connects us to creativity and the divine. It is seeing ourselves beyond our physical body, connected to the greater consciousness. There is an inherent bliss of this union and ability tap into the world consciousness.

When Open …
… able to percieve yourself beyond your physical representation, connection with a higher union of energy

When Blocked…
… caught up thinking happiness only comes from material things, suffering in the quest for more

Anja, Third Eye Chakra

Located between the eyes in the center of the forehead, its element is Light
This center relates us to inner wisdom and is often referred to as eye to the soul. It is our intuition and imagination and it helps to govern the 5 lower chakras.

When Open…
… intuition are strong, self-guidance is strong, resounding connection with divine and self

When Blocked…
… focused only in the now, unable to connect with higher union, close minded and cloudy

Vishuddha, Throat Chakra

Located on the throat, its element is Sound
This center helps us in self-expression and communication to self and others. It gives voice to our personal power, and is very closely related to our heart chakra.

When Open…
… self-expression is clear, patient to give time to self and others to express, honoring truth without judgement

When Blocked…
… struggle to express emotions, overly talkative and not patient to listen or adapt to others

Anahata, Heart Chakra

Located in the center of the chest above the heart, its element is Air
This center is the connection between upper “spiritual” chakras with lower “materality” chakras. It is the source of our unconditional love and compassion. Here we give and receive love and find inner peace.

When Open…
… feeling loved and loving freely, able to access deep traumas and see them compassionately

When Blocked…
… inability to be vulnerable, possesive or co-dependent, fear of rejection keeps walls up and isolated

Manipura, Solar Plexus Chakra

Located on the abdomen above the naval, its element is Fire
This center is our source of self-efficacy and connection to our true self or soul. Here we awaken our confidence and choose our path through intentional manifestation.

When Open…
… feeling alive and having high self-esteem, expressing pove and desires passionately

When Blocked…
… overwhelmed with doubt, lack of courage, shame, feeling stagnant or out of control

Swadhisthana, Sacral Chakra

Located below our naval above our pelvis, its element is Water
This center is were we sense abundance, well-being, and pleasure. The power of sexual energy here enables us to tap into our tantric connection. We give birth to our dreams freely when our sacral chakra is strong.

When Open…
… free and open towards new experiences, receptive to change, “in flow” and connected to passion

When Blocked…
… enabling negative self-talk, self-conscious with emotional outbursts not rooted in truth, feeling unsure

Muladhara, Root Chakra

Located at the base of our pelvic floor, its element is Earth
This center is related to our deep sense of belonging, security, and family relations often manifest in this chakra. Grounding ourselves begins with the root chakra and from here we can complete the wheel of energy between the mind and body.

When Open…
… resiliency toward challenges, secure in home and personal relationships, living life proudly, grounded and able to hold space for others

When Blocked…
… feeling threatened or unstable, needy and seeking outward validation, engaging in self-destructive habits

There is much more to discover regarding the affect of chakras within our bodies, it is one way we can realign our mind with body. Stay tuned for more posts in the future about chakra healing and self-reiki positions.

Email me with any questions, follow ups or to join the practice!

Happy exploring!


Published by Rachael Schmoker

Healing through the embodied self with care for community and environment. Engaging in trauma informed, holistic healing methodologies to support a community of healing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: